Eating Raw

Aaron and I became vegetarians about a year ago.  We had already cut our meat intake down lots in the last couple of years of our marriage.  We didn’t eat a lot of red meat.  No pork.  We were basically only eating organic chicken and turkey meat.

People have asked me if I have lost weight since I became a vegetarian.  The answer is a great big NO.  The reason why is b/c I still have some very bad eating habits in my life.  I love all things satly and fried.  I like bad foods.  I desire bad foods.  Nachos make me happy.  Chips and dip make me happy.  Fried Cheese sticks make me happy.

You see, nasty foods make me happy.  All those foods I just listed are completely vegetarian!
I am noticing that I’m tired more often.  I need more energy.  Also not to mention that I have gained about 6 lbs since January.  You say 6 lbs is not that much but if I put on 6 lbs every year in a few years  I would have put on lots of weight!

I haven’t been running lately b/c of my back.  But I just finished week 2 of my year long program with a chiropractor and I’m back in the saddle with my running!  Tonight I ran 3 miles in 41 minutes.  VERY SLOW.  I actually did a 2-3 program.  You may read that and assume that I ran for 3 min and walked for 2.  OH NO!  I ran for 2 and walked for 3 and thought I was surely going to have a heart attack a few times out there.  I am so dang out of shape.

So I’m gaining weight, tired, lack of energy, not sleeping well.  A long adoption process is not helping with my problems either.

All this to say we’re trying to eat better.  And when I say we I really mean me, because I’m married to Mr. Self Control.  We got Taco Cabana at 1 AM last night and Aaron had half a breakfast taco and then said he felt gross and didn’t finish.  I ate all mine, a small guacamole,  & 2 tortillas filled with cheese.  UGH.  They were so good.

We’ve talked about trying to switch over a few meals a week to raw cooking.  It sounds interesting and would help us get more veggies in our bodies.  It is so easy to eat tons of pasta and other crap just because they don’t have meat in them.  Not any more baby!

Here are some of the things we have made out of our RAW FOOD MADE EASY by Jennifer Cornbleet:

Carrot Juice – this is in the book, but we’ve been doing this for a while anyways.  Some weeks we have this 3-4 times a week.  Other times it’s more like 2-3 times.  We juice carrots and add apples in them as well.  That gives it a little bit of a better taste.  I think this is so tasty and my boys like it too.  Even Fedna liked this when she was here!

Guacamole – Super easy and we make this all the time even before our book, but cool to see it as a “raw” option

Zucchini Hummus – this is SO easy and very good.  I made some today for myself.  I knew that I would want a snack tonight and sure enough I just enjoyed some of it!

1 zucchini, peeled and chopped (about 1.5 cups)

2 tbsp raw tahini

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon crushed garlic (1 glove)

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon paprika

1/4 teaspoon salt

Place all the ingredients in a food processor fitted with the S blade and process until smooth.  Stop occasionally to scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula.  Stored in a sealed container in the fridge the hummus will keep for 5 days.

CLASSIC VINAIGRETTE DRESSING – made this tonight.  I had the wrong kind of vinegar and it really did make a difference.  I won’t make this again until I get the right kind!  (I used red wine – don’t recommend that)

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar or balsamic vinegar

1/2 tsp Dijon mustard

1/8 tsp salt

dash of black pepper

3 tbsp EVOO

Place the vinegar, mustard, salt and pepper in a small mixing bowl and whisk to combine.  Add the olive oil and whisk until smooth.  Stored in a cruet or glass jar in the fridge dressing will keep for one week.


LEMON HERB DRESSING

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp minced fresh herbs (parsley, basil, dill, mint, tarragon or oregano)

1/2 tsp crushed garlic (1 clove)

1/4 tsp plus 1/8 tsp salt

1/4 tsp Dijon mustard

dash of black pepper

1/2 cup EVOO

Place the lemon juice, herbs, garlic, salt, mustard and pepper in small bowl and whisk to combine.  Add the olive oil and whisk again until well blended.  Stored in a cruet or glass jar in the fridge will keep for five days.

MARINATED VEGETABLES – Aaron made this and I LOVED it.  I think I ate the whole thing in one night.  This recipe is for one serving.

1 cup small brocolli florets

6 cremini mushrooms, quartered

1/2 cup thinly sliced carrots (1/2 carrot)

3 tbsp lemon herb dressing (listed above)

Place all the ingredients in a mixing bowl.  Toss well with your hands, working the dressing into the vegetables.  Marinate for four to 12 hours in the fridge before serving.  Stored in a sealed container in fridge will keep for 3 days.  Bring to room temp before serving.

MEDITERRANEAN KALE – LOVED this and so did my kids!!!

4 kale leaves, stems removed

1.5 tsp EVOO

1.5 tsp fresh lemon juice

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 red bell pepper, diced

1 tbsp raw pine nuts

1 tbsp sliced black olives

dash of black pepper

Stack 2 of the kale leaves with the stem end facing you.  Fold in half lengthwise and roll tightly like a cigar.  Slice crosswise into thin strips.  Repeat with the remaining two leaves.  Chop the kale strips crosswise a few times, so they aren’t too long.  Place in a mixing bowl along with the olive oil, lemon juice, and salt.  Toss well with your hands, working dressing into the greens.  Add the red bell pepper, pine nuts and olives and toss gently.  Marinate for 10 min at room temp before serving.  Season to taste with black pepper.  Stored in a sealed container in fridge salad will keep for 3 days.

There are so many more things in this cookbook that I want to make.  I’ve found some new blogs to follow that are all about raw cooking.  So much fun!

What is your favorite “raw” recipe?

6 responses to “Eating Raw

  1. some years back i used to have a book called the uncook book that i used to use a lot back in the late 90’s.
    eventually i discovered though that most of the things i liked the best were just the simplest, obvious things. different mixes of fruits… etc.

  2. well we did a fast like that with our church and it was really great…however, Ben says he can’t live w/o meat so we probably won’t become vegetarians anytime soon. we did make a great hummus (chickpeas, tahini paste, lemon juice, garlic cloves, olive oil, pepper, salt, etc)….however, I’m wondering now- the chickpeas can’t possibly be “raw” b/c they have to cook to become soft…but in raw diets you eat legumes, correct? Otherwise where would your the majority of your protein and fiber come from?…

  3. zucchini hummus sounds yummy! it all sounds yummy, really. I don’t have a favorite raw food recipe off of the top of my head, but here is a great raw blog:
    http://happyfoody.com/

    in the summer, i do like to make a salad of cucumbers, tomatoes, vinegar, water, & sugar. is it considered raw b/c it’s marinated?

  4. http://www.choosingraw.com/

    just came across this the other day while looking through the list of food blogs i follow. might be good but haven’t really looked into much.

  5. What is tahini?

  6. This Mediterranean Kale sounds good, i will have to try it! I have almost completely cut meat out of my diet over the last couple of months and am trying to eat raw as much as possible. There are some raw alternatives that just sound awful to me, you know??

    My favorite thing now is having “Green Monsters” for breakfast. I blend spinach, almond milk, flax seeds and fruit in the blender. I have done mango and a few other options but my favorite is strawberry banana. So good! And it gives me so much energy!

Leave a Reply

