The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

Aaron gets coupons every Monday from Redbox for us to get a free movie. What a great deal! I mean we have Netflix, but sometimes we don’t have a movie on Monday nights and did I mention it’s a free night! Well it never works that way for us. Tonight is Thursday and I just now watched our “free” movie, so this “free” movie just costs us $3 plus some change!

Anyhow … What a wonderful movie I watched tonight. I highly recommend THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS to you guys. There have been many great movies over the holocaust, and I have enjoyed lots of them, but this one was different. It is a movie through the eyes of an 8 year old German boy, whose father is an officer in the army. Wow it is so good. I only wish I would have read this book first, because I imagine it is fabulous!

9 responses to “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

  1. was it sad at the end?

  2. We just watched this last weekend…. I couldn’t watch the ending… I had to go to bed…. Jeff thought I was nuts because I wasn’t going to watch to see how it ended….

    I knew in my heart how it was going to end, and when Jeff came up and told me how it ended…. I was right….

    I think sometimes I am in the mood for things like that and sometimes I just can’t deal with it…. makes me feel ill that there is so much rotten in this world (and yes I know there is so much good too!)

    You have been in my prayers… leaving your kids again in Haiti and bringing Fedna home… It is hard to get close to a date that you thought they would be home and then pass it by….

    I found a pair of Brit and Fed’s socks in the diaper bag yesterday and started crying. I still miss those girls, and they have been home two months already….

  3. I bought this book several years ago at a used book store. there was no cover jacket on it so I had no idea what it was about–I just liked the title. I just saw that they made a movie of it a couple of months ago, so I need to finally read it! I’ll let you know when I do…I’m sure it’s better than the movie–that’s usually how it goes! Miss you lots!!

  4. I saw this advertised and have been wanting to watch it! Not sure if it’s out in Chile yet, though. I’ll have to look for it!

  5. okay-this is now my next book to read, thanks to your blog post and rachel’s comment. 🙂

    i watched martian child last weekend-haven’t watched it until now because the title bothered me. but it was good too! i will admit-i cried a little… or a lot.

  6. tanya pretty much covered it! thanks! heehee

  7. I can’t wait to see this. On the same subject, you should read The Book Thief. It’s also about the holocaust from a German child’s perspective. Our book club just read it and we all loved it!

  8. I have read the book and let me tell you it is absolutely amazing! i am absolutely dying to see this movie. My sister apparently has seen it already at her school and she hasn’t even read the book. How fair is that. great great book!

Leave a Reply

