my mind is busy.

Having Fedna here has definitely changed the amount i think of my sweet Haitian kids each day.  Honestly I think of them less with her here.  I’m more busy than I normally am.  I’m doing more for her each day than I do for my two kids combined.  I’m thinking more about her and her needs than I am Story and Amos.

This is not a bad thing or a good thing, it’s just how things are right now.  I knew with her coming here that it would take my mind off of Amos and Story for a while and make me not so obsessive over trying to figure out exactly what date they’ll be flying into Austin.  (yes I try to guess THE date …. anyone else do this?)

I thought of my friends Sarah, Kim & Debra all weekend long b/c I knew they were all in Haiti and they were all with their kids for the FIRST time.  I remember that FIRST time with my kids.  I remember the hardness of it.  I remember the joy in seeing them and touching them after having only pictures for 4 months previous to that.  I remember the heart wrenching pain I felt when I was leaving them.  I remember the tears as I drove off and left them there.  I have since done that 3 more times and it DOES NOT get easier any time I leave them.  Being with them gets easier and we bond more and more each time, but leaving does not get easier.

I knew Debra was at the same place that my kids were, but it never hit me that she would SEE them.  Not sure what I was thinking or not thinking, but I’m telling you Fedna is consuming and that’s the only way I can explain it.  Last night I sat down to check my facebook and there they were.  Pictures. My kids.  WHAT?  Oh yes I remembered Debra was there with MY KIDS.  The tears started flowing.  Story looks a million times bigger since we were there in December and Amos, well he is so handsome I can hardly contain myself.  I am so in love.  I am so in need of all my kids home under one roof.

img_7061_3891_2

img_7018_3857_2

img_7060_3890_1

img_7076_3906

12 responses to “my mind is busy.

  1. I am glad that I was able to love on them a little for you…

    they are beautiful kids.

  2. Oh my!!! Your children are absolutely beautiful! I hope you have great news soon!

  3. Your children are absolutely beautiful and I can’t wait until they are all home with you.

  4. My momma heart literally aches for you Jaime – sending you lots of hugs 🙂

  5. I feel exactly the same way. I miss Hope and Faith so much.My husband and My daughter went to Haiti 2 weeks ago. They stayed at Barb’s place Licia had someone bring the girls down. They got to stay with them for 2 days!!!. I had to stay here. I absolutely could not find anyone who would take care of my other 2 children. I prayed that God would make a way but it didn’t happen. I was beside myself. Did no one understand how important this was to me. Obviously not. Anyway, i just wanted you to know I’m right there with you!!! I’m praying for you. Amos and Story are adorable!!

    Kristy

  6. As a mom, I can only imagine what that must feel like. We’re praying for all of you. They are beautiful kids!

  7. those pictures are beautiful….. I know what you mean about feeling so busy you don’t have time to think about other things…. I am back to just my six kids now and I feel a little bored!!!! Like I have tons of extra time on my hands now… very weird really….

  8. Oh, Jamie! My heart continues to hurt for you – and I fervently pray them home with you! Quickly, please Lord!!! They are just so staggeringly beautiful. I think I long for them to be home with you more for their sake though – they absolutely MUST know what a wonderful family they are blessed with! They will love their lives as Iveys…….

  9. alright, does story have about the most smoochable lips of any child out there!!!

  10. Jamie- What beautiful kiddos you have! I cant wait to meet them! Reading your blog made me think of Jesus and His children and how He LONGS to be with me every day…….a parents love for their child- I can’t even imagine! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Jamie – I am right there with you … waiting, weeping, hoping …

  12. WHAT???? Is Story walking already???? We just need you to get those two HOME!!!!

    Story is beautiful and Amos is too cute!!!!

    Still waiting with you, Jamie, but, oh what JOY to know you will have them both home one day!!!
    Diane

Leave a Reply

