Day one with Fedna

Fedna’s first day in Austin has been very crazy for her!

We arrived at the hospital at 9:30 as we were told and we went to two different locations and they all looked at me like I was crazy and then we finally made it to the right place and it has been a great day.  I love this hospital.  I won’t say online where it is, for her protection, but those of you that live here must know which one she is at and it is fabulous!  Love it!  The staff, nurses, doctors, admissions, everyone has been awesome!

We met the doctor this morning and she got straight to work checking her out and ordering tests!  She is super nice and I can tell she knows her stuff!  We started with an ultrasound.  That was traumatic.  Then X-rays.  That was traumatic.  Then she napped for a long time.  I think she was worn out from the crying.  Good thing is that after each test as soon as I pick her up she stops crying and is comforted.  I think we’ve bonded – probably out of sheer necessity for her sake!!! Can you even imagine her day?

After nap we were off to get an IV put in and draw blood.  They don’t do that in the room because they don’t want the kids to be afraid of their room.  So we headed off to the procedure room and they began the search.  The search for a good IV.  The nurse finally got it in and he searched and searched but couldn’t get it to “stick” (or whatever that means in medical terms).  So they tried the other arm.  Nothing.  She was so brave during this time.  Of course there were tears, but she was so brave.

Then they must have called in the dream team of IV nurses b/c these three walked in and the others left them to do their business.  Then one of the nurses got it good on her first try!  I guess they are the dream team!  So, we got blood, but it was slow coming out and she is probably dehydrated.  It was about 5 o’clock and she hadn’t eaten anything but one tiny bite of oatmeal this morning and last water was about 10:30.  Poor thing.  She couldn’t eat or drink anything all day b/c an MRI was also going to be scheduled.

At 6:30 we went down to the MRI place and I left here there.  It was kinda sad leaving her.  I haven’t left her once since she’s been with me.  Poor thing.  They put the mask on her and no lie within about 3 seconds she was out.  They had to sedate her to do the MRI which would last about 1.5 hours.

Then Aaron and the boys came to visit and brought me dinner.  It was great to see them!  Aaron is such a great daddy!  He takes such great care of the kids and I never ever worry about them being alone with him.  He’s great and hasn’t complained once.  I love that guy!

So, now it’s almost 9 and Fedna is still not back.  I’m missing her and worried about her.  It’s amazing the love I have for her and we’ve only known each other a little over 24 hours.  She is a sweet heart and I love when I get a smile or a little giggle out of her!  I’m so happy for the change this will do for her.  I wish I could call her momma and papa and reassure their little hearts.  They must be going crazy wondering about her each minute of the day!

I hope tonight goes great.  I’ve already checked out my hospital “bed” and it doesn’t look too bad.  🙂  But you know how it is in hospitals, they come in about every hour to check on things!  I hope Fedna sleeps well tonight and is comfortable and not scared!

9 responses to “Day one with Fedna

  1. praying you get some rest and for the sweet little girl to as well.

  2. i’m glad things are going well…praying for you both. i know it’s so hard to let her cry 😦 i miss her!

  3. I have been praying for you guys all day… I am sorry there have been so many tears…. that is hard.

    Lori will be very good about updating the parents for you- just forward her updates!

    • Thanks Tanya – I have thought about you all day too!!! You are doign this with two!!! You rock!

      All in all it has been a GREAT day and she has done fabulous with all the “newness” around her!!! now she’s fast asleep and I’m close behind!!

  4. I will be praying for peace, rest and wisdom in care. Blessings to you and that sweet baby girl!

  5. Praying you both get rest.

  6. hey friend. i just wanted to tell you that i think you’re amazing. you have a huge heart & i love that about you. just wanted to let you know that you’ve been on my heart all week & i’m praying for all of you today! hope you all slept well!!

  7. Hi, Jamie. I’m Saintana’s host mom – and I congratulate you with Fedna and keep you in my prayers. Hope your hospital stay is short and sweet!

  8. Jamie. You are so incredible. I love your heart 🙂

Leave a Reply

