Night #1

If anyone is thinking about visiting Haiti, this is a great time of year.  It is so nice outside right now.  I’m on the patio with jeans and a t shirt and am very comfortable.  No uncontrollable sweating at night.  I even have my hair down out of a pony tail.

I have already been eaten up with mosquitos and had to spray lots.  I’ll add another layer of grossness before I go to bed and get the fan blowing on us to rid us of them.  No mosquito bites!!!!

Aaron crashed about 2.5 hours ago.  I feel so bad for him.  I might wake him up to spray him down with bug spray and put some more medicine in him.  I should probably spread these meds out but I was hoping to get three doses in him today.  I want them to start working NOW!!  Can you tell I’m ready to have my “normal” not sick husband back.  He hates being sick right now.

I’m so excited about seeing the kids tomorrow.  I hope that Amos isn’t shy like he is sometimes at first and that we pick up right where we left off.  He is such a cutie pie!  I can’t wait to see Story walking.  Wow a lot has changed in a year since I first met her!

Tara and I just sat around and talked about all kinds of stuff.  Of course we talked about adoptions and we both agree it is a miracle when kids get to go home.  The system can be hard to follow and rules change on you at any time.  I heard that we might have gotten our papers signed out today, but they are not in hand, so another day of maybe’s has gone by.  I’m not worried and not upset.  I have learned (or should I say – I am learning) to take things as they come at you.  You can’t have big highs and low lows.  I want to be even with my emotions throughout this or it will be a LONG ride.  I have had my highs and lows, and now I try to be balanced.

So … if we did get out I’m super super super happy!  If we didn’t, I’m not sad.  It’s just another day.

5 responses to “Night #1

  1. I love reading your posts while you are in Haiti:) We’ll be leaving for PAP on Thursday and sure enough… I’m sick. It sounds very similar to what your hubby has. YUCK. Praying for you guys to have a great visit with your kids and that Aaron is back to his normal self soon!

  2. just wanted to let you know that i’m praying for you guys! it’s so hard when things don’t meet our circumstances–it’s so hard to keep from getting upset! so i’m praying praying praying!! love you guys!!

  3. i meant expectations….not circumstances. ha. i am way too tired to be leaving people comments. off to bed…

  4. I can’t wait to read more! I am praying for you guys and your four children. Be safe!

  5. girl. woke up thinking about you guys this morning–so sorry to hear aaron’s still not feeling great. praying for those drugs to kick in!! so excited to hear all about your time with the kids–love you and praying for you!

Leave a Reply

