a day for the history books.

No matter who you voted for yesterday I hope that you still realize what happened yesterday.  It was a day that will go down in history.  I looked at Deacon this morning over our toast and orange juice and told him that he can now truly be anything he wants to be.  He can even be president.  Up until November 3, 2008 that was not a reality for my son.  Now it is.  I can’t even imagine the emotions that went through men/woman that watched history in the making last night that also sat through sit-in’s.  That also marched beside Dr. Martin Luther King.  They never dreamed that in their lifetime they would be beaten for the color of their skin and then fifty years later allowed to have a black man as the President of the United States of America.

I am proud that my black children now have a president that looks like them.

4 responses to “a day for the history books.

  1. Well said, Jamie! I have been thinking about all those things a lot today!

  2. You just said exactly what I’ve been thinking today…No matter what my views on the political front…I am SO proud of our country for where we are…I am proud to be a part of this. And I, personally, will vote for Deacon…when he hits 35!!!! But Aaron, that one is out, I am not allowing hot dogs to be currency!

  3. I’m right there with you on this. It was exciting to see. I’m jealous that my brother got to be there in person to hear his speech. It was sobering to see history made.

  4. Me too! What a thing for our kids to grow up with.

Leave a Reply

