National Housewives Day

Today, November 3, is NATIONAL HOUSEWIVES DAY!  I never knew that I had a day to celebrate all my work around the house!!  In celebration of this, my sweet husband is taking me out on the town tonight!  Actually our date was already planned, but now that I know how special this day truly is I will now make this day all about ME!!!

I found the definition of housewife:  a married woman who manages her own household, esp. as her principal occupation.

So, this is my occupation now.  I manage my household.  I must say that some days I do it well and other days I need a manager to manage me!  I’m proud that I’m a housewife, but I hate the word.  I hate what it brings in people’s heads.  They imagine me with my apron on at dawn cooking breakfast, bread and homemade jelly all day long.  Maybe that’s my own interpretation!

The funny thing about me being a “housewife” is that I’m really not that good at it.  I am not a very good cook.  I hate to mop floors.  I very much dislike sweeping.  I let clothes sit in the dryer overnight.  I let toothpaste build up on our sinks.  I don’t vacuum enough.  I don’t make my kids make their beds.  The kids room is not very organized.  I don’t do arts and crafts time with my kids.  And best of all, Aaron does the grocery shopping and the cooking!!!

Anyhow, I’m truly honored to be able to stay home with my children and serve them and my husband.  I would be dishonest if I said that there are not days that I wish I was out in the “real world” with a “REAL” job.  Doesn’t that sound nice sometimes?  Yes.  BUT, I know that my time is best served here with my babies.  One day if God permits I’ll head back in to the real world.  Not sure who will hire me after all that time, but we’ll cross that bridge when we get there!

So today I salute all you housewives out there!  Three cheers to you today!  Only do one load of laundry today.  Rest.  Eat bon-bon’s.  Put your feet up.  Watch Oprah.  Oh wait we do that anyways, right?

HAPPY HOUSEWIVES DAY!

9 responses to “National Housewives Day

  1. you are my kind of housewife!

  2. Dang! I’ve already done 2 loads of laundry before getting Jack off to preschool this morning. I didn’t know I had my own holiday. WHOO HOO! Today is my very first guitar lesson…. so that’s how I’ll celebrate.

  3. what a terrific post;)…man, you guys are missed! Give Deacon a hug from Ems!

  4. hahaha! here’s an idea: let’s work out a system where on days that you want a “real” job in the “real” world, we can trade places. you get to work and i get to hang with cayden and deacon!

  5. I have done this for soooooooo long, and NEVER knew we had a day?!!! wow. And I just came home from that “part time” job, and cooked up a wonderful meal for the fam, and the girl’s boyfriend! never knew……..thanks for sharing. And, by the way, you are a wonderful mom, and “housewife”! Time spent with your people is what matters.

  6. I’ve told you before…we don’t stay home to clean house, we stay home to be a full time mom! You’re a great mom!! As long as you clean house before all the homestudies you’ll be fine! Love you!

  7. I had a day and I missed it!?!

    Your housekeeping skills sound very much like mine. 🙂

  8. I am so glad to hear your “confessions” because I also don’t cook or clean and wonder what in the world kind of housewife I would ever be if God calls me to that role. You’ve encouraged me! 🙂

  9. Who knew we had a day …not suprisingly it was hush hush , because GOD FORBID , we SAHM’s should TAKE THE DAY OFF *gasp* . I haven’t had a day off since May 26th 2007 !

Leave a Reply

