My new read = INFIDEL

On Thursday night I was given a new book to read and was told by two people that it is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!    I love to hear that about a book, so I was very ready to start.   There was only one problem.  I was dragging my feet through the book I had been reading for a month.  I wasn’t dragging because it wasn’t good, but just because I wasn’t making time to sit down and read.

So, yesterday I buckled down and read all afternoon and way into the Texas vs Texas Tech game.  I finally finished A LONG WAY GONE last night and I’m glad I read it.  The book was eye opening to the reality of children around the world.  A reality that I will never know and my kids will never know.  A reality about survival.  Sometimes surviving means doing things you never would have thought you were capable of.  I think my favorite part of the book was him talking about his rehabilitation.  Trying to retrain the mind of a 15 year old boy to become a child again and not kill.  What a thought.

Today I look forward to staring my new book, INFIDEL by Ayaan Hirsi Ali.  I have heard wonderful things about her story and am very excited about getting into it.  Anyone read this one lately?

3 responses to “My new read = INFIDEL

  1. Ha! Let me guess – Anna gave you Infidel?? Yes, she encouraged me to read it too and it was a real eye-opener for me. There are some graphic parts related to religious rites – so get ready . . .

    Angela 🙂

  2. Ooh – these are both on my list of books I want to read. Once I finish this silly vampire series I’ve been sucked into. No pun intended.

  3. Read Ayaan’s book “The Caged Virgin” as well. They are both well worth it. She is an amazing woman. Infidel tells her personal story, but also gives such good coverage of recent socio-religious-political issues in Holland as well. Glad you’ve got it!

Leave a Reply

