Drop off at MDO

For the past three years I have worked at a Mother’s Day Out.  I started when Cayden was about 18 months old.  I thought he needed “friends” and it would be a good way for me to earn a few extra bucks each month.

Cayden loved it and as soon as Deacon came along he started right along with us.  It was awesome for us.  Our kids went for free and I made a few bucks.  My kids love going to school.

I remember as a teacher I used to see all the moms standing around chatting after drop off or pick up and I used to envy them.  I was the one watching their kid while they got to hang out and enjoy each other.  I wondered when it would be my turn.  My turn to drop off the kids and not have to work there.

Now that we’re in Austin we have Cayden at a MDO program and he is enjoying it.  I’m happy that he is getting some time to learn and play with people besides just his brother.  I get to do work at home and enjoy some Deacon-Mommy time.

Today as I walked out after drop off I literally had to walk right through a mommy-circle.  There were a bunch of moms standing around chatting and there was no way for me to get to my car but literally walking right through their circle.  It was awkward and for a split second I was jealous.  Jealous that I didn’t know any of them.  Jealous that we didn’t have anything to talk about.

I was thinking about all the times I used to envy the moms that were dropping off kids while I was watching them.  Now I’m that mom and I have no one at this MDO to talk to.  I guess I need to make some friends!!!!

3 responses to “Drop off at MDO

  1. Jaim,
    You could totally call me anytime!!!!!
    I sent another note to FMSC kids today but didn’t hear back – yet!
    Argh…..

  2. We have relocated several times so I’ve found myself in this position as well. It’s just newness. If you don’t push it, you’ll gradually meet people, see familiar faces, especially because you have kids. Don’t worry: it will happen.

    I have blundered through the circle of moms, inserted myself a wee might forcefully, only to scare away what could have been friends. Your approach, waiting and watching, will serve you better in the long run. It just takes time.
    Spring

  3. Jafta goes to a preschool where I know a ton of people, and yet I still feel awkward. For me, preschool drop-off is the new junior high lunch room. Do I break into this circle of people already talking? Do I hover? Do I walk around and try to talk to everyone or commit to one person? ACK!

    Maybe it’s just me, because I can overanalyze social situations. But I always feel a little self-conscious at drop-off. I am sure my hubby doesn’t feel that way!!

Leave a Reply

